top of page

Changing Paths

Her body starts revolting at the idea of stepping into doing something other than leaving the comfort of the house and household duties in exchange to go face the world and make something of this life. This life, that now lays stagnant in the pool of time and is crying for help to take it to new avenues, to let it smell the freshness of possibilities and to feel the cheer of being lively .

The otherwise incessantly thinking Mind stands Frozen and shut down in both thought and action. 

But somehow this feeling is not new to her .

This perhaps is the story of many a woman who has lived her life inside the walls of a house and does not really feel secure to step outside her comfort zone .

 Woman as a home maker is the single most essential link that decides the prosperity of a unit as small as a nuclear family, She is as powerful if she decides to step out in the world to make her place on a larger scale. In fact a home maker is better equipped to bring about positive change in this existing world because she understands the entire structure of building and even breaking a system. And if such a woman is a mother she is then overqualified!

Yet, this Home maker is oblivious to her own potential!

If she is capable of making home a better place She can definitely make a difference in the world and make it a Better Place.

It dates back to when I must have been in class 2 ,so say around 6 years of age, and my teacher had chosen me to go upon the stage for an inter house Story telling competition. This exact above mentioned sensation had engulfed me into its trap! But this teacher was persistent in her pursuit of having me participate .She was single minded about me being the chosen one! According to her there was no one else better suited for the job than me . I do not remember if I made any excuses to get out of it but surely the thought of being in the situation was hugely troubling me .I just wanted to get out of it, even wishing that somehow I become invisible!

She kept calling me for rehearsals regularly to make me memorise the words and  actions for the particular narration to be staged.

Till the day of the competition I sat nervously thinking as to how I was going to pull it off.

But surprisingly when my name was announced and I proceeded to the stage , I looked confident .Forgetting a few lines in between I remember finishing my act and coming back to this figure that showed immense appreciation to what I had just delivered .

She was God sent!

Landed the 3rd position and was felicitated on the school Annual Day! Now this honour was something that I had not taken into account even remotely. The feeling was surreal . This whole act of being in the limelight is something that I had never experienced before and I liked the taste of it. Unnecessary to mention that I never looked back after that. Won many more awards as I went along the way. Always got good mentors .

Almost 4 decades later here I am, finding myself in a very similar situation. Stepping into a phase of life that is making me uncomfortable to stay contracted  now. After raising a family and looking after their needs, fulfilling duties of the household , how does a woman come to terms with the knowing that her services are no longer required . I can see what "getting laid off" means  and how it affects the psyche of a human being. It's easy to declare for others that such a woman should now develop hobbies and be all the things that she always aspired to be!

Well, that's possible but isn't easy for her to step into that zone which she has long lost touch with.

I know the things that ignite my fire and also how to go about them, but what is missing is the 'Will' to do all that for myself. Is it because I love myself any lesser than the people in my life or because I love myself way too much to cause any discomfort to the self ?!

Make plans ,

scrap plans

Make plans , scrap plans

it's a repetitive cycle.

What if I am successful?

Will I be able to keep up with it?

Have I lost my chance of making it Big in life when it comes to expanding my horizons. Will I just live from day to day surviving in one familiar place that has started to weigh heavy on the heart?

Questions are many and so are the doubts, but I know the Solution is only One.

What does it take to Make that Leap of Faith?

Probably,all I need is someone like this teacher from my school who will lend Faith in my capability .Her support was what made me sail through my reluctance and resistance to move into unfamiliar place.  Her joy on my victory and not even once making me feel as if I wasn't enough for forgetting my lines is the kind of solidarity that is required. For her it was a victory with a capital V.

I must not let her down.

But I will miss her the most in the process of preparation, and that is always the most crucial part of every endeavour .

Someone who has confidence in me even when I have it not. Someone who will not accept anyone else for the part that I am meant to play .

Someone who will consider my win as larger than life.

I must 

I must

Get out of my comfort zone.

Get up and take charge.

Stand up and be that teacher for Myself .

I must not let ME down.

Every Once in a while , by a matter of chance or the hand of destiny we cross paths with people who see our light better than we do.

Who instil confidence in us while we lack it.

Who will walk along supporting us throughout.

Who will rejoice in our Triumph wholeheartedly.

We must try to see that Light in ourselves which was visible to them and Honour it.

If you find a fire burning inside you, go ahead , fan it and let it rage.

If it warms your Heart, then take it forward and let it burn away all your Fears and spell away the Darkness that keeps you from recognising Your own Light and marching ahead in Life.

Share Yourself with the World and DO NOT let your voice stay small.

Let Your Light Glow and Your Voice Grow.

Allow Yourself to let the Beauty of your Being Shine Bright in this World!

            Do Yourself Proud for Yourself!

bottom of page